Installing Ubuntu on my Chromebook.

I’m following the instructions here to get Ubuntu running (as a dual-boot) on my chromebook.

So far I have…

* move the hardwarde switch to get into developer mode (not too difficult, just need a pin)

* change the bios to dev mode (detailed on here)

That seemed to go okay.

I then logged in and followed the Google instructions to switch the OS from ‘stable’ to ‘dev’. This required it to download an upgrade, which it did.  When complete, it asks me to reboot to finish the install, and after the reboot it comes back up to the usual screen about lacking verification, BUT this time the chromebook beeps twice, and ctrl-D (or waiting 30-seconds) gets me to a “chrome” screen but no further..  😦

ctrl-alt-f2 will get me to the chronos screen from here, but that’s only of marginal help… I’m going to try pushing on, as the instructions for installing ubuntu do say *don’t log in*, which I can’t, so maybe it’ll work out okay :S

I followed the next step, and the good news is that it the wget worked to get the script from the web, and I could run the script.  The script told me it was happy that I was in developer-BIOS, but that I wasn’t running a 64-bit version of Chrome OS, and that I needed to make sure I was updated to the latest Dev Channel OS release before re-running the script…but how to achieve that??

It appears the only thing I can actually do when faced with the white-screen-of-chrome, is to get to the localhost login terminal (using ctrl-alt-F2), but once there the usual exit method (which is ctrl-alt-F1) only seems to make the cursor disappear; the screen itself still displays whatever was up with the localhost terminal.

This, combined with the white-screen-of-chrome, seems to suggest that the chromebook is ‘hanging’ whilst trying to boot up  (though ctrl-alt-f1 brings the cursor immediately back to the localhost terminal).

Upon typing sudo reboot, if I hit ctrl-D quick enough (ie within the first 15secs or so) then the double-beep doesn’t happen.  But I do still seem to get stuck on the white-screen-of-chrome.  I’m going to leave that for 10mins (until quarter past) and see if it just needs longer..

Hmm, well nothing changed, so I flicked the dev-mode switch back, let the chromebook begin to go back to normal mode.  I noticed that when it came to the screen where I would setup language etc it gave the chromebook version in the top-right, and it was 22.0.., which a quick google (on my phone) showed to be the latest dev version. So obviously the upgrade worked. Next step was to kill off the machine (and thus end the switch back to normal mode), flick the switch back to dev-mode, and let it boot up, and it came through properly :).

Leave a comment